Writing Like a Buddha Lessons

What Does the Buddha Write About?

When she writes, what does the Buddha write about? We know the Buddha encourages us to experience the world strictly as it is, without the overlay of our story. But writing is all about story, isn’t it? Isn’t that what makes it engaging? We know the Buddha tells us to focus on the moment. That is […]

Read More

Writing Like a Buddha: Deepening Focus

  The purpose of Writing Like a Buddha is to develop a reverberation between the writer and the material he is writing. This is the development of non-duality; the integration of writer and writing into one shared experience. In our Developing Focus exercise, one of the ways we experienced this was through rhythm. Rhythm is […]

Read More
jim ringel buddhist

Why Writing Like A Buddha?

Writing Like a Buddha is a blog for writers. It includes thoughts, meditations and writing exercises to help authors see the world anew.

In Buddhism, every moment is a rebirth. A step outside of the normal into a burst of reawakening. We call these bardo moments—time in between past and future, between where we’ve been and where we are heading.

That is what we do as writers. Reimagine the ordinary as something new. Writing Like a Buddha is meant to help us experience the world fresh, and not as we already know it. Whether you are a poet or prose writer, a fiction or non-fiction writer, I invite you to engage in the exercises, offer comments, ask questions, and contribute ideas. Let’s create a mindful exchange of tips and practices to benefit us all.

Explore Lessons


Lama Rinzen Mystery Series

The Buddha teaches us to see the world as it is, without the overlay of our egos or prejudice. Like how a detective views a crime scene. With an open mind, properly sniffing out clues and avoiding delusions.

How does one open their mind? These are the lessons of the Six Realms of Tibetan Buddhism. The Hell Realm teaches us to cope with confusion and anger. The Hungry Ghost Realm helps us overcome greed and feelings of inadequacy. The Animal Realm teaches about our ignorance and self-obsession. The Human Realm steers us from being guided solely by our passions. The Realm of the Warring Titans confronts our jealousy, while the God Realm teaches us compassion for those less fortunate than ourselves.

Each Lama Rinzen Mystery begins with the lama being reborn in Colorado into one of the Six Realms. The lama must learn the realm’s lesson in order to progress into the next mystery and into the next realm.

How does Lama Rinzen learn? By solving a murder, which gives a glimpse into his own suffering. While chasing down the killer, Rinzen himself is killed. If he has learned the lesson, he will then progress toward enlightenment. If not, he is condemned to yet another rebirth into the very realm he is trying to escape.

More About the Lama Rinzen series

A Thought

“I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt